Tassie mum a winner in top rural awards

September 7, 2022 7:54 pm in by

A supplied image obtained on Wednesday, September 7, 2022, of Stephanie Trethewey, winner of the AgriFutures Rural Women's Award, at Parliament House in Canberra, Tuesday,September 6, 2022 (AAP Image/Supplied) NO ARCHIVING, EDITORIAL USE ONLY

Stephanie Trethewey, winner of the AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award, at Parliament House in Canberra, Tuesday, September 6, 2022 (AAP Image/Supplied) 

They say it takes a village to raise a child, but that’s not always possible on the land.

Tasmanian farmer Stephanie Trethewey saw a need for change, creating Motherland, a podcast exploring the lives of rural mums.

Article continues after this ad

She also built an online platform, where women on the land could combat isolation through virtual mother’s groups, bonding over their experiences of parenthood.

Mrs Trethewey, a mother of two from Dunorlan in Tasmania’s northwest, has been recognised for bringing women together, winning the AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award at Parliament House in Canberra on Tuesday night.

“Due to their location or a lack of local services, many rural women don’t have access to adequate postnatal support, including the opportunity to form meaningful connections with other women,” Mrs Trethewey said.

“Mothers are the backbone of these communities, yet they remain significantly undervalued and under supported.

“Their work underpins rural industries including the agriculture sector whether they are employed directly in it or not and it is crucial that we begin to recognise these contributions.”

Article continues after this ad

The national award acknowledges the role women play in rural communities, industry and businesses.

Kimberley Furness, the Bendigo-based founder of OAK Magazine, was named runner-up.

Mrs Furness produces the magazine, profiling regional female business leaders, and a podcast called A Friend of Mine, in an effort to highlight women who are making a difference in country communities.

The finalists were Rebecca Bradshaw, a child nurse from Jackson, Queensland; Josie Clarke, a NSW disability advocate; South Australian farmer and mentor Robyn Verrall; Northern Territory educator Kylie Jones and health worker Louise O’Neill from WA.

Applications for the 2023 awards close on October 19, or January 23, 2023, for NT applicants.

Article continues after this ad

© AAP 2022


Keep up to date

Sign up for our newsletter